Fruit

Apple Chips

Apples

As I mentioned in my Apples, Apples, Apples post, we had a lot of apples around our house last fall. And in my opinion, apple chips are one of the top ways to use up these yummy fruits! This recipe is for making these in the oven. However, I have now invested in a dehydrator. This purchase was for two reasons: (1) Dried fruit is so expenses, and (2) It is almost impossible to find dried fruit that doesn’t have any added sugar.

Despite this recipe being very simple to make, I must admit that I ruined my first batch! I sliced the apples on the thinnest setting of the mandolin but cooked them the entire suggested cooking time. This resulted in the apples being baked to the aluminum foil. The second batch was on the middle setting and if I did these apples in the oven again I would have made them thicker. But that is just my personal preference.

Apple Chips

  • 2-3 apples
  • Cinnamon, ginger, or any other spices to taste

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 225 degrees F.
  2. Slice apples thinly with a mandolin slicer. (Coring them is up to you)
  3. Line two sheet pans with parchment paper, and place the apple slices side by side on the parchment, in a single layer.
  4. Sprinkle the apple slices with the spices. Note: if you sprinkle from high above, the spices will disperse more evenly.
  5. Bake the apple slices for 1 hour, then remove them from the oven and flip them over. The apples will be floppy, but they will crisp up later.
  6. Return the apple slices to the oven for another hour, then turn the oven off. Let the apple chips cool completely in the oven, this is when they will crisp up.

Leave a comment