Soup

Cheddar, Kielbasa, and Potato Soup

Cheddar, Potato, Kielsbasa Soup

This post has been sitting in my drafts for a while and since we are about 6 weeks away from fall (but whose counting?) it had been in the back of my mind that I need to share this recipe.

And then Facebook reminded me that I made this two years ago…

2 YEARS ago!

I told myself that it was time to finally post this recipe. At this point I am not sure where all of the pictures I took of making the recipe are, so the final product will have to do.

There is something inherently heart-warming about potato soup on the coldest of evenings. But this summer has been very hot; like a summer should be. Nevertheless, Autumn is by far my favorite season. It has my favorite weather, favorite foods, favorite holidays. I can’t think of an aspect I don’t like! Hopefully, this year I will get around to posting the apple butter and apple chips I intended to post last year. 🙂

Cheddar, Kielbasa, and Cheddar Soup

Ingredients:

  • 2 tbsp. butter
  • 2 onions
  • 3 tbsp. flour
  • 4 cups milk
  • 3 medium potatoes (about 3 cups, cubed)
  • 1/4 tsp. pepper
  • 2 cups shredded cheddar cheese
  • 8 oz. cooked Polish sausage, cut into 1/4 in. pieces

Instructions:

  1. Melt butter in a 4 qt. sauce pan. Add onions and cook for 4-5 minutes until soften.
  2. Stir in flour; cook for 1 minute
  3. Add potatoes, milk, and pepper. Stir constantly for 3-5 minutes. Be careful that the milk doesn’t burn.
  4. Let simmer for 22-25 minutes or until the potatoes are soft.
  5. Add in cheddar cheese and sausage. Cook for an additional 5 minutes until the cheese in melted and the sausage is heated through.
  6. Serve with some crackers and enjoy!

Leave a comment