Breakfast

Berry-Banana Baked Oatmeal

I am one of the many people that set resolutions or goals at the beginning of each year. Even though I think that the notion that January 1st, the first of the month, or Monday, are the perfect times to start something new is just a social construct; there is something refreshing about starting a new year with new habits.

This year I decided to not to put anything in writing. I am a chronic planner. My plans have sub-plans and those plans have contingency plans. But what are plans worth if they are not followed by actions? And thus, my one goal: to be a do-er.

20170116_120613

One action that I have decided to take is to start meal prepping more often. Last week I took advantage of a Tasty video for some of our lunches. This one small step created a ripple effect through out the week. Lunch was made, we didn’t spend money eating out, and there was minimal clean in the kitchen.

20170116_144800

Since this meal prep went so well I decided to add on breakfast as well. I love oatmeal and this flavor combo sounded amazing!

Berry-Banana Blueberry Oatmeal

Ingredients

  • 2 tbsp. butter, melted
  • 2 cups rolled oats
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 tbsp. cinnamon
  • 1 tsp. ginger
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/3 cup sliced almonds, toasted
  • 1/3 cup shredded coconut, unsweetened
  • 1/2 cup blueberries
  • 1 egg
  • 1/3 maple syrup, (I used dark amber)
  • 1 tbsp. vanilla
  • 2 cups milk
  • 1 banana, medium sized and ripe

Instructions:

  1. Mix together the oats, baking powder, cinnamon, ginger, and salt.
  2. Pour the melted butter over the oats and toss until they are coated with butter. Stir in almonds and coconut, mixing well, then toss in berries making sure everything is everything is evenly distributed. Pour into a greased pan.
  3. Thoroughly whisk together the egg, maple syrup, vanilla and milk. Then slowly and evenly pour over the oats.
  4. Slice the banana and lay pieces on top of the oatmeal.
  5. Bake for 35 to 45 minutes at 375 degrees F. Allow to cool a few minutes before serving or allow to cool all the way and distribute between 4 Tupperware dishes for a ready-to-go breakfast!

Leave a comment