Breakfast

Maple Pumpkin Pancakes

20151005_174903

Breakfast for dinner, or as I, to my husbands annoyance, call it “Brinner”, is a frequent occurrence at our house. Because of our crazy work schedules sometimes dinner time is our breakfast time!

Since it is fall, I try to cram in as many pumpkin and apple recipes as I can. Many of the popular ones, including the one I am posting today, are usually for breakfast or are sweet. Over the next few weeks I’d like to branch out and make a few savory ones. Pumpkin soup or Pumpkin ravioli anyone? Or maybe even Roasted Pork Shoulder with apples and onions? Thanks to Pinterest and Buzzfeed the possibilities are endless!

Last fall, I remember getting up on a Saturday morning and making a big breakfast of ham steaks, stewed apples, and pumpkin pancakes. I was not satisfied by the recipe so this time I rewrote it so that it was not only sweeter but spicier as well. Bold flavors are a must for me in food which is why I have an entire cabinet for only oils, vinegar’s, herbs, and spices.

I served this meal with some center cut bacon, over easy eggs, and apples. Hope you enjoy these pancakes as much as we did!

20151005_174932
Maple Pumpkin Pancakes
Yields; 12 pancakes (1/4 cup of mixture per pancake)
  • 2 cups Baking Mix (Ex. Bisquick)
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/2 cup pumpkin (Not pumpkin pie mix)
  • 1 cup to 1 1/3 cup milk
  • 2 tbsp. Brown Sugar
  • 1 tbsp. Maple Flavoring
  • 2 tsp. Cinnamon
  • 1 tsp. Ginger Powder
  • 1/2 tsp. Nutmeg
  • Dash of Salt
  • Butter, Syrup, Honey, Chopped Nuts to serve
In a medium sized mixing bowl whisk together egg, sugar, pumpkin, spices, and 1 cup of milk until thoroughly mixed.
Add in baking mix to the mixture. The dough will be very thick and lumpy and that is okay. If it is too thick add another 1/4 to 1/3 of a cup of milk to thin out the mixture.
Heat a lightly oiled griddle or frying pan over medium high heat. Pour the batter onto the griddle using approximately 1/4 for each pancake. Brown on both sides and serve hot. Top with butter, syrup, honey, or chopped nuts.
Our verdict: These pancakes have been approved my a husband who doesn’t really care for pancakes or sweet things!

Leave a comment