Soup

Seven Can Chili

20150918_174344

It didn’t feel like fall here in Indiana last week with highs around 90 degrees. Thankfully, a cold front has come through and that calls for the first soup recipe for the season!  Our family loves soups and chili’s so thank goodness there are so many varieties and things to pair with the main dish. The Pioneer Woman posted a 7 Can Soup recipe this past week and it caught my interest. And just like any other recipe I have to tinker with it. I wanted this to be a more meaty, chili type dish; hence the change in name from soup to chili. The chili would be perfect for tailgating or in a crockpot at a pitch in.

With this meal I decided to pair it with homemade corn muffins. Don’t get me wrong, I love Jiffy as much as the next person. But I had the ingredients to make cornbread and so I did. I’ll post the recipe for those in few days.

20150918_172214

Seven Can Chili

  • 2 cans No Bean Chili
  • 1 can Mexicorn
  • 1 can Diced Tomatoes
  • 1 can Rotel
  • 1 can Black Beans
  • 1 can Kidney Beans
  • 8 oz. Velveeta, diced
  • Chili powder, cumin, salt, and pepper to taste
  • Toppings: Cilantro, sour cream, shredded cheese
  1. Drain both cans of tomatoes, the can of corn, and drain and rinse the beans.
  2. Add beans, spices, tomatoes, corn, and cans of meat to a dutch oven and heat through over medium heat.
  3. Once the chili is hot, add the cubed cheese and allow to melt.
  4. Serve with toppings of your choice.

Hope you enjoy and thank you for reading! If you would like to follow this blog on social media, please click on the side bar.

4 thoughts on “Seven Can Chili

Leave a comment