Beef

Meatloaf-Weight Watchers Style

Last night, I did my first recipe for the 2013 Cooking Challenge. I had ask the family what they wanted and they answer that I got was…Something hearty!

Yesterday was a pretty cold and snowy day so when I was looking through the reciepes the meatloaf really stood out.

Now I know meatloaf gets a bad wrap but you should seriously try this recipe. It came out extremely moist and flavorful. The only changes that I made to this particular recipe was that instead of making mini-personalized loafs, I just made one big loaf on a cooking sheet and increased the time to make sure it was cooked all of the way through.

Individual Garlic Meatloaves

Ingredients

  • Cooking spray
  • 1 large egg
  • 3/4 cup ketchup, divided
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/4 tsp. black pepper
  • 1 1/2 pounds ground sirloin
  • 1/3 cup quick-cooking oats

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 350°.
  • Line the bottom of a broiler pan with foil; coat rack with cooking spray. Place egg in a large owl, stirring well with a whisk. Add 1/2 cup ketchup and next 3 ingredients, stirring with a whisk until blended.
  • Add beef and oats. Using hands, gently mix just until blended. Shape meat mixture evenly into 6 small loaves; place loaves on the rack of prepared pan. Spread remaining 1/4 cup ketchup over loaves.
  • Bake at 350° for 39 minutes or until a thermometer reaches 160°

My cookbook says that this recipe has a 6 point value. Although I think those are “old points” so I really don’t know how that translates now.

Anyway, I hope you have enjoyed the first recipe of the series! Stayed tuned for WW berry cobbler!

And as always, I love comments, and I love you for reading!

Cara

2 thoughts on “Meatloaf-Weight Watchers Style

  1. I popped over from sparkpeople. I haven't made that much meatloaf, but that recipe looks pretty typical. Maybe it has fewer eggs and oatmeal. I'd sure love me a cold meatloaf sandwich right about now!

    Like

  2. Thanks so much for the comment!

    And I agree with you. I know when I used to make it I would just throw stuff in there until it looked right. And that most definitely means more calories!

    I think the only thing I would change is I might add some shredded zucchini or something like that!

    Like

Leave a comment